Dream #43: Trent Reznor’s Root Vegetable Metaphor

03.23.2010 § Leave a comment

I’m in my aunt’s living room. It’s twilight outside over the corn fields and train tracks. My seven-year-old cousin and I are in the living room watching a Nine Inch Nails music video. Carrots, potatoes and radishes keep mutating from his forearms, and Trent ravenously eats them to stop the growth.

My mother walks in. My immediate first impulse is that she will be offended that I’m letting my cousin watch this. However, instead, she is fascinated by the video’s concept. Since they are all root vegetables, she interprets, they represent the root chakra, and thus the anus. If he is ravenously eating these phallic symbols then it represents frantic homophobia.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dream #43: Trent Reznor’s Root Vegetable Metaphor at cmloegcmluin.

meta

