Blackletter Chinese

09.08.2011 § Leave a comment

September 2001

I would like to create a Chinese font that looks like Blackletter:

I will need expert help to accomplish this. We should start with the most common Chinese characters.

Update January 2014

I passed a restaurant last night in San Francisco Chinatown which teased me with blackletter script, but not applied to Chinese characters:

little sichuan

Update April 2017

I live in Japan again and encountered my first real life instance of Blackletter Chinese characters! Amazingly, I suddenly encountered two of them at once, different styles, within a few meters of each other, under the tracks near Koenji station:

As a bonus, just a block away under the same tracks there was a sign in plain old Blackletter:

And later the same week, I discovered some Blackletter style kana!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blackletter Chinese at cmloegcmluin.

meta

