Film Micrœview #14: Good Hair (2009)

10.16.2013 § Leave a comment

Good Hair

 

I learned a lot about black women’s hair, but I feel like if that had been my intent I could have done that way more effectively somehow else. I was hoping to get more insight into the psychology and culture of their situation but felt like Rock’s irreverence got in the way of that a lot. I didn’t really get why the exhibition competition became the centerpiece of the film — felt a bit like he was grasping for a climax, when I might have preferred some action being shown to be taken on, like, some of the troubling business issues Al Sharpton raised.  Pretty disappointed.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Film Micrœview #14: Good Hair (2009) at cmloegcmluin.

meta

