Film Micrœview #45: Madadayo (1993)

01.14.2014 § Leave a comment

Mada da yo

Kurosawa painted the ending titles himself

Rating: Good.

I admit that initially I was off-put by this movie. It seemed like there was no traditional struggle for the main character. It opens with his retirement, and sets out as if it consists of nothing but scene after scene of love lavished on him for reasons we haven’t experienced first-hand. But by the end I enjoyed this unconventionality and found it beautiful. Japanese cultural critique is beyond my ken, but as far as my experience goes, this film seems rooted in unquestioned Japanese values, giving it a stable footing from which to force its audience to confront a vulnerable yet still strong humanity, through a time when that was dearly needed. This revered sensei loses everything in the air raids, but he perseveres with the help of his community of adoring students; he never has children, but loves a cat with a passion like it is his own child, and the child inside him never dies either.

My favorite scene of the movie might have been toward the beginning when Sensei boasts of being a master of keeping burglars out. His own students test his defenses. They find everything unlocked. There is a clear sign reading “Burglar’s Entrance”. They continue to find “Burglar’s Passage”, “Burglar’s Recess” (with sake), and “Burglar’s Exit”. Something deeply resonates with me about this scene. I can’t quite grasp everything it must mean, but I like it.

Also, fantastically poetic ending.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Film Micrœview #45: Madadayo (1993) at cmloegcmluin.

meta